A fresh challenge!

6.14 - First of the campaign
6.14 – First of the campaign

It’s been nearly 3 weeks since I was last out on the bank due to a nasty bug that I seem to have picked up from somewhere.  I like to think I could fish through any ailment but this thing floored me.

Anyway now i’m on the mend I decided I could risk a trip to a stillwater.  I’m not really a stillwater fan, although I have always had a bit of an affinity with Trent gravel pits, but I wanted something to do while the rivers were closed.  For the past couple of months i’ve been reading up on fishing for gravel pit Bream and decided that I really wanted to have a good go for them this year.  I had a pit in mind that had done a few low doubles but for the most part they are relatively un-fished for.  The big ones invariably end up getting caught accidentally by carp anglers on boilies.

The alarm went off at 5:25am and as I lay in bed I could hear the rain hammering against the window.  Not a good start so I decided to stay in bed and eventually got up at 7:15 and it was still raining.  I checked the forecast and the rain was set to ease around 10am and I figured by the time I got to the water and sorted myself out time would be ticking on.

As i’d never fished the pit for Bream before the peg I chose was all a bit random.  I had a wander along the bank and pitched up in a spot away from the carp anglers where I could fish in peace.  Out went the marker rod into about 15 feet of water and I fired out a dozen balls of groundbait mixed with hemp, caster and chopped worm.  I’d decided I was going to fish double caster on the helicopter rig on one rod and a dendra on the other rod using a simple running feeder.

I wasn’t expecting bites straight away with all the commotion of the bait going in so I was a bit surprised when something took the double caster pretty much straight away.  Whatever it was can’t have been very big as I struck into thin air.  I rebaited, cast out again and sat and waited.

After 20 minutes I decided to recast the worm rod and found something had bitten the end of my worm off without even noticing the bite.  I was getting concerned that my day was going to be plagued by small fish pulling at the baits.  An hour or so after starting I had a much more positive bite on caster and I struck into my first Bream.  It didn’t look a bad fish when it went into the net and the weight was confirmed at 6.14.  Not a bad start and I was hoping that I would be straight into another after recasting.

A couple of small Roach came to the caster but I couldn’t get a bite on the worm rod which is surprising.  Two hours had passed since i’d had the 6.14 and I was starting to think I should change the worm for caster.  As is usually the case, just as I was thinking of changing I had a solid bite on the worm.  The dead weight on the end told me I was into another Bream and this one felt bigger but in actual fact it was smaller at 6 pound on the nose.

9.1 - Getting closer
9.1 – Getting closer

I then had a hectic spell where I took Bream of 9.1, 7.9, 5.8 and 8.9 all on the dendra.  Then as quickly as the fish came they buggered off.  It was now 2pm and in the space of 3 hours I’d had 6 Bream.  In between fish I’d been regularly feeding to try and keep the fish there.  I felt sure that they would be back at some stage but I sat there until 8pm without another bite on the worm.  I did manage several bites on caster and a small skimmer graced the net but the bigger fish had moved on.  I was blessed with a lovely sunset though and I couldn’t complain as my Bream campaign was off to a good start.

Sunset

On the drive home my head was filled with thoughts of Bream and how to target the double figure fish.  I guess the only way really is to fish with boilies or pellet but the problem with that is getting pestered by Carp.  I want to avoid night fishing if I can as the thought of trying to bait up in the dark isn’t something that particularly fills me with joy.  I think i’ll just continue doing what I did today and hope that a big fish comes along and takes a liking for a juicy worm.

Leave a Reply

