I didn’t expect to see that!

TerrapinI was praying that the rivers levels would come down in time for yesterdays trip.  They did come down but not enough for my likings and it was still a good 20cm more than I really wanted.  Not to be deterred I headed out to one of my flood water swims and by the time I got there I had to take a layer or two of clothing off.  In fact as I sat there I could see the steam rising off my body not unlike a, well you know what.

I put both rods out using my chopped worm method and straight away start to get little knocks on the rod.  At first I thought it was bits of debris knocking the line as it came downstream but I decided to strike on one of them and it turned out to be a pristine Perch weighing 2.14.

The river was alive with Minnows and Bleak splashing around on the surface.  I was hoping that it was a good sign and that it might attract more perch into the swim.  Sadly, after a good start I never got another bite and decided to have a mooch around different swims to see what was happening.  Unfortunately the swims I had my eye on were not fishable and although I knew that, I still decided to have a cast or two but after 10 minutes my mojo told me that I was wasting my time.

2.14I then decided to get into the car and go to another stretch owned by another club.  It very rarely gets fished and it’s a struggle to get a fish.  First cast in and I got a bite.  I left it a minute or two to see if it materialised into something a bit more positive but it never did.  There are quite a few Grayling down there and I put it down to those.

I then went for a little wander upstream and bumped into a terrapin sunning itself.  Now there’s something you don’t see very often on a freezing cold February day up North.  It looked a little worse for wear and had obviously been in the river for some time as it appeared to be blind in one eye and it’s shell didn’t look like it would be any use as an ashtray.  It was quite a big one though and I wondered if it would put up a good scrap on my 10 foot quiver tip rod.  I gingerly edged towards it to take a picture.  You have to be careful with the little buggers as they can give a nasty nip and carry all sorts of disease.  The last thing I need right now is to be killed off by a deadly Terrapin disease.

After a few minutes talking to it, with me doing most of the talking, I returned to my rods and cast out with renewed enthusiasm.  The rods sat there motionless for the remainder of the day and I packed up earlier than usual.  I just wasn’t feeling the love for the river at that point and the thought of sitting in front of the log burner at home was much more appealing.

Leave a Reply

