Calm before the storm.

3.4It’s fair to say I have a little more time on my hands these days due to work, or should I say lack of it.  Unfortunately this doesn’t seem to be translating into more fishing time.  I had been keeping an eye on the weather and river conditions though and it looked like storm Frank, or whatever his name is, was on it’s way so I had to make a trip to the river before they became unfishable.

I decided on the Trent and on arrival I couldn’t quite make out what state the river was in due it still being dark although after a couple of casts I soon found out as my feeder was swept away in what is normally a very nice steady flow, even when the river is in flood.  I waited until it came light and decided to pack up and head to my favourite tributary.

After a short drive and a short downstream stroll I arrived at my chosen spot.  By now time was cracking on and I put the first rod out just before 10am.  From my own personal experience the river fishes best for a couple of hours after first light, after that you might as well just admire the scenery because bites after mid-morning are a rarity.

After 30 minutes I wasn’t very confident at all but then I had my first bite on the mother of all lobworms.  I struck and the fish came slowly towards me before going off on a powerful run right under the rod tip before the hook pulled from what felt like a decent Perch.  I was thinking that was to be my only chance of the day but a short time later the left hand rod pulled slowly round before I struck into another heavy fish.  This time there was no mistaking and the fish was safely in the net.  It was all head and shoulders and very thin on the backend but I was confident it was over 3 and the scales confirmed it at 3.4.

Apart from a couple of plucks later in the day, from what I presumed were small fish, that was to be my only action, not that i’m complaining.

It wasn’t a bad note to finish the year on.

Leave a Reply

