More Zander and a new PB

8.1 Trent ZanderAfter success on my last Zander trip I decided to capitalise on my good fortune.  Unfortunately the weather wasn’t the best with strong winds and bright sunshine to contend with.  I can’t think of worse conditions really.  I’ve never done well in those conditions.  Still, you have to go with the hand you’re dealt.

I arrived on the bank at 4:30pm and started off in a spot I had never fished before.  Mainly because it was a bit more sheltered from the wind.  I’d also sat the rods on the rod rests nearer the tips of the rods to stop them bouncing around as much in the wind.  After an hour or so I wasn’t at all confident after having had no bites and having the bright sunshine directly in my eyes.  I persevered though in that spot until about 7pm and when the wind dropped a bit I decided a move was on the cards.  I didn’t have to move my stuff far and after a couple of short walks was settling down nicely into my peg.  I was expecting a bite straight away but when one didn’t materialise I just put it down to the conditions.  Fortunately I could see a bank of clouds on the horizon coming my way and was pleased when it finally masked the bright sunshine.  Within five minutes the rod tip started twitching and it was with great relief that I hooked into my first fish.  Not a big one by any standards at around 2lb but it was a great relief to have avoided a blank.

Confidence restored I fished on.  Just as it was getting dark the right hand rod started knocking away again.  I picked the rod up and struck instantly and could tell it was a good fish.  I got the fish in the net and it looked a goodun.  This was confirmed as the scales settled at 8.1.  After a quick photo I cradled the fish in the water until it was strong enough to swim off.

By now time was ticking on.  It was just before 11pm and I was debating what time to pack up.  I had to be up early the next day as I had a long drive ahead of me.  I decided to give it until 11:30 7.12 trent Zanderwhich turned out to be a good idea as I had another bite that turned out to be a fish of 7.12.  It was at that point that I thought it would be a good idea to start slowly packing up.  I didn’t want to put out another bait for the sake of 15 minutes and besides I still had a baited rod in the water.

I’d packed up everything except the rod and net and was just about to pick the other rod up when I heard a slow “click click click” of the baitrunner.  I thought it could just be a bit of weed caught up on the line or a fish so decided to strike which turned out to be the right decision.  I could feel a “thump thump” on the other end and the rod took on a deep curve as whatever was on the other end made desperate bid for freedom.  Slowly the fish came in and came up to the surface about 10 yards out.  Straight away 3.12 EelI thought eel as this was exactly the same scenario as a few weeks ago when I had a decent eel.  This time I decided to unpack the scales and I’m glad a did as it weighed 3.12 and was a new confirmed PB for me.  I didn’t want to mess about getting the tripod out so a quick snap in the net and it was released to continue it’s journey.

I’m loving my Zander fishing at the minute and I keep thinking I should move on to another species but why bother when you’re on a bit of a roll.

4 thoughts on “More Zander and a new PB

  1. Richard Cowell July 21, 2015 / 6:47 am

    That’s a good session Simon some very handsome Zeds; you are on “a bit of roll” at the moment and a ‘double’ is on the cards.
    Good Eel too; nice to see some of those, it all adds go the story.
    I look forward to the next installment Simon ; always a good read.

    Like

    • broughs July 21, 2015 / 10:15 am

      Long may it continue Richard 🙂 Although i’m sure i’ll be back down to earth with a bang soon.

      Like

  2. Rob Goodwin July 21, 2015 / 7:39 pm

    Nice one Simon. I’m getting a few, but not quite the stamp of your zeds. I’m good at catching small ones! I thought about bigger baits but probably would be pestered by pike. Well done.

    Like

  3. Andy Cheetham. July 22, 2015 / 10:29 am

    On a roll my friend.
    Hope I’m there to witness the doubles.
    A well written blog as usual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

